+1-310-601-6592 Mon-Sun : 08:00 - 20:00 EST
+1-310-601-6592 Mon-Sun : 08:00 - 20:00 EST

The 8 Limbs of Yoga Explained

The practice of yoga is an art and science dedicated to creating a union between body, mind, and spirit. Its objective is to assist the practitioner in using the breath and body to foster an awareness of ourselves as individualized beings intimately connected to the unified whole of creation. 

What are the eight limbs of the yoga practice?

1. Yama

Yama is translated as a social discipline and traditionally focuses on practices connected to our world. However, we can apply these practices to ourselves and practice this. 

The first limb of yoga, Yama, is concerned with an individual’s ethics and sense of integrity; five distinct features, including: 

Ahimsa: nonviolence 

Satya: honesty 

Asteya: not stealing from others 

Brahmacharya: chastity/sexual restraint 

Aparigraha: not craving what others have 

2. Niyama

Niyama is the second limb of the yoga practice concerned with observing spirituality and self-discipline. It means practicing spiritual customs consistently, such as attending services at church or saying grace before you eat, or forming personal meditation practice. 

The five niyamas are: 

Saucha: cleanliness 

Samosa: contentment 

Tapas: heat; spiritual austerities 

Svadhyaya: the study of the sacred scriptures and one’s self 

Isvara pranidhana: surrender to God 

3. Asana

Asanas are the various postures practiced in yoga, and these postures help develop concentration skills and discipline, which are vital aspects of yoga. 

4. Pranayama

Pranayama, which means having breath control, involves techniques that will help persons master their respiratory process while also being mindful of the harmony of the breath, the mind, and the emotions. 

5. Pratyahara

Pratyahara is the fifth limb of yoga practice and deals with withdrawal. This stage allows you to take your focus from the outside world and introspect. You reflect on your behaviors and habits that negatively impact your health through your unbiased introspection.

6. Dharana 

After completing the first five limbs, it’s time to focus on Dharana, also known as concentration. Concentration is the prelude to meditation. During this process, you slow down your thoughts and think about a specific object or image in your mind. 

7. Dhyana 

After spending an extended period concentrating, you transition into dhyana, also known as meditation. In this stage, your mind is entirely still as there are few or no thoughts. Endurance is required to reach this level, and if you have done this, it is commendable. 

8. Samadhi

Samadhi is the stage of ecstasy. The meditator is connected with all living things, feels a sense of peace, and truly becomes one with the Universe. The completion of the yogi path happens when you have made peace with everything around you.

If you want to experience all the limbs of the yogi path, sign up for classes with Yoga Angels International, our instructors will equip you with the skills you need to transition from one limb to the next. 

Contact us today! 

Call 876.302.2865 (Jamaica) or 310.601.6592 (USA / Whattsapp) 

Email us at info@yogaangels.com

Related Posts

Leave a Reply